Opinion

Thu 5 Sep 2019

Gleeso: Imagine the outrage if it was Muslim

premium_icon Gleeso: Imagine the outrage if it was Muslim

The furore over a painting depicting the Virgin Mary cradling a giant penis brings to mind other bloodier struggles over freedom of expression, writes Peter Gleeson.

Wed 4 Sep 2019

‘I was totally humiliated and embarrassed’

‘I was totally humiliated and embarrassed’

It’s a controversial practice on the rise in Australia. Many young people say it leaves them feeling “traumatised” and “embarrassed”.

Tue 3 Sep 2019

It’s not popular but it’s right to send them back

premium_icon It’s not popular but it’s right to send them back

While supporters’ hearts are in the right place, this is an issue that politicians must not be compromised on, writes Renee Viellaris.

Hard-working, loved family is no security threat

premium_icon Hard-working, loved family is no security threat

This ideology that asylum seekers pose a security threat to their adopted nation is outdated and cruel.

Mon 2 Sep 2019

How Jeff Horn gave boxing a black eye

premium_icon How Jeff Horn gave boxing a black eye

Former world champion Jeff Horn wasn’t the only one whose dreams took a pounding on Saturday night. The rest of us had our illusions shattered as well.

How a child abuse survivor's email changed my life

premium_icon How a child abuse survivor's email changed my life

AS A journalist, there are people you meet who stay with you forever. For me, it was a young woman who possesses the most incredible strength of anyone I’ve met.

Don’t get in the driver’s seat of a deadly ride

Don’t get in the driver’s seat of a deadly ride

What many drivers forget is that our own vehicles can be dangerous if they’re not properly maintained.

Peter Dutton: ‘Why Tamil family must go’

premium_icon Peter Dutton: ‘Why Tamil family must go’

Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton has spoken out on why family must return to Sri Lanka and why he won’t take a ‘moral lecture’ on the issue.

Sun 1 Sep 2019

An unretiring type can still think about retirement

premium_icon An unretiring type can still think about retirement

I’VE been surrounded by talk of retirement lately.

Sat 31 Aug 2019

People and crocs don’t mix

People and crocs don’t mix

Crocodiles are not deep thinkers. Neither are people who swim out to croc traps so they can get take photos of themselves smoking darts and sinking tinnies.

WHO changes a nappy on a cafe table?

premium_icon WHO changes a nappy on a cafe table?

I am sure many will remember the uproar one mother caused when she changed her baby’s soiled nappy on a cafe table in Brisbane.

Fri 30 Aug 2019

A letter to the father who strangled his partner

premium_icon A letter to the father who strangled his partner

TO THE perpetrators of domestic violence in our community: you need to make an executive decision to leave your partners, writes Meg Gannon.

OPINION: Why we need to make changes before we're doomed

premium_icon OPINION: Why we need to make changes before we're doomed

I AM currently listening to the book ‘Against’, by American academic Tad Delay.

Thu 29 Aug 2019

Playing the race card hardly proves rampant racism

premium_icon Playing the race card hardly proves rampant racism

Sudanese-born supermodel Adut Akech this week played the tattiest race card yet and with insane success, writes Andrew Bolt.

Mon 26 Aug 2019

Parents should be models of behaviour

premium_icon Parents should be models of behaviour

IT would be a better world if parents told their children to respect teachers.

Sat 24 Aug 2019

Dad shaming: The latest attempt to humiliate men

premium_icon Dad shaming: The latest attempt to humiliate men

When did it become okay to hurl abuse at parents just trying to do their best? It seems that in our perfection-driven society anything goes these days, even when...

Trump humiliates his own supporter

Trump humiliates his own supporter

Donald Trump’s supporters love it when he humiliates his political opponents. But this week, one of them suddenly became his latest victim.

Fri 23 Aug 2019

Why women are socking it to the rhetoric of Alan Jones

premium_icon Why women are socking it to the rhetoric of Alan Jones

2GB's Alan Jones has no idea of how his scary his 'shove a sock down her throat' and 'back-hander' comments really are, writes journalist SHERELE MOODY

Wed 21 Aug 2019

Challenge of Pell’s verdict for Catholic parents

premium_icon Challenge of Pell’s verdict for Catholic parents

Across Australia, children are coming home from their Catholic schools and wanting to know what the guilty verdict of Cardinal George Pell means for their faith.

Bolt: My trust in justice gone after shock Pell ruling

premium_icon Bolt: My trust in justice gone after shock Pell ruling

I looked to Victoria’s Court of Appeal to stand against the mob and the media witchhunt, and to set George Pell free, writes Andrew Bolt.

Newer Older