Opinion

Mon 22 Jul 2019

Call me crazy, but Splendour showcases something special

premium_icon Call me crazy, but Splendour showcases something special

THE festival creates a new pop-up city on the Northern Rivers, and it shows what we are capable of as a region, says editor David Kirkpatrick.

What’s got the Coffs Coast talking?

What’s got the Coffs Coast talking?

ONLINE POLL: Do you support the Cultural and Civic Space?

Naomi Campbell’s flying hack is pure brilliance

Naomi Campbell’s flying hack is pure brilliance

Footage of supermodel Naomi Campbell may have gone viral for all the wrong reasons, but for anyone who’s ever been sick on a plane, it was a complete masterstroke.

YOUR SAY: Coles and Woolworths create more plastic waste

YOUR SAY: Coles and Woolworths create more plastic waste

Coles and Woolworths are to blame for much of the household plastic that ends up in landfill.

Ugly flaw with next level bikini trend

Ugly flaw with next level bikini trend

The racy “underboob” bikini took an extreme turn at Miami Swim Week, but there is a serious problem with the daring design.

Sun 21 Jul 2019

Wage thieves flogged with a feather

premium_icon Wage thieves flogged with a feather

What is the difference between wage theft and sticking up a servo?

The place where celebs go to die

The place where celebs go to die

Another star has washed up on our shores. But in our celebrity trade-offs, we always get the short end of the stick.

Fri 19 Jul 2019

Ten ads we'd rather forget

premium_icon Ten ads we'd rather forget

For every one great advertisement, there are ten that are absolute shockers. Here's some of our favourites.

Wanting to quit smoking should never lead to a child’s death

premium_icon Wanting to quit smoking should never lead to a child’s death

Australia’s outdated smoking laws don’t just make it hard for adults to kick the habit, they put children’s lives at serious risk too.

Surely we care about our elderly more than this?

premium_icon Surely we care about our elderly more than this?

What many of us long suspected — that some retirement and aged care facilities are woefully devoid of humanity — is finally surfacing.

How to work around insta ban on likes

premium_icon How to work around insta ban on likes

Banning Instagram likes is actually a good move and influencers can make it work for them, writes Brooke Falvey.

Thu 18 Jul 2019

What’s so wrong with the F word?

premium_icon What’s so wrong with the F word?

Excess weight is a huge problem in Australia. It's a killer and its getting worse. Accusing anyone who brings that up of fat shaming is not helping anyone.

Wed 17 Jul 2019

It’s not OK killer dogs are allowed out in public

premium_icon It’s not OK killer dogs are allowed out in public

YOU need a licence to drive a car, and one to own a firearm — so why is it OK for anyone to keep, and take into public spaces, an animal capable of killing?

Tue 16 Jul 2019

Mastering the skill of children's birthday parties

premium_icon Mastering the skill of children's birthday parties

Life becomes a circus with three kids' birthdays in three months, but it's a juggling act this mum has worked out.

We must not abandon our military veterans

premium_icon We must not abandon our military veterans

When Bradley Carr enlisted in the Australian Army as an enthusiastic 22-year-old from Charters Towers, could anyone have imagined it would end in suicide?

Mon 15 Jul 2019

Winning spoils shared as Lloyd ends illustrious career

premium_icon Winning spoils shared as Lloyd ends illustrious career

APPRENTICE Jackson Murphy started with a welcome winner for Gold Coast trainer Mel Eggleston before the day proceeded without a multiple race winning jockey.

OPINION: What's the end game in welfare drug testing?

premium_icon OPINION: What's the end game in welfare drug testing?

I WONDER if we're a society driven more by a desire to punish than to problem-solve.

Why I’ve had it with The Handmaid’s Tale

Why I’ve had it with The Handmaid’s Tale

They started out as some of the best television we’ve seen in years, but they’ve stayed at the party too long and have lost what made them bingeworthy,

Sun 14 Jul 2019

Extreme trend the ‘new lower-back tattoo’

Extreme trend the ‘new lower-back tattoo’

Australia, don’t say you haven’t been warned. This hot new craze seems sexy now — but you will absolutely regret it, writes James Weir.

Sat 13 Jul 2019

David Campbell: ‘Could my son be Princess Diana?’

premium_icon David Campbell: ‘Could my son be Princess Diana?’

V host David Campbell details the unexplainable events that led him and his wife to believe their son could be the reincarnation of the People’s Princess.

Newer Older