Opinion

Wed 19 Sep 2018

Gen-Z Opinion: Plastic surgery has became mainstream

premium_icon Gen-Z Opinion: Plastic surgery has became mainstream

Cadet Journalist Ebony Stansfield writes about how plastic surgery has gone mainstream.

Be honest, we took farmers for granted

premium_icon Be honest, we took farmers for granted

The fragility of agriculture industries has been brutally exposed by the damage of the strawberry contamination saga.

Tue 18 Sep 2018

Glaring problem on our roads

Glaring problem on our roads

THERE’S a glaring problem on our roads that is killing countless Australians. And it’s only getting worse.

Alternative view on campus rape unwelcome

premium_icon Alternative view on campus rape unwelcome

UNIVERSITIES are supposed to be places for open exchange of ideas, but students would rather start a riot than hear what this woman has to say: Peter Gleeson.

Slow down laws blamed for accident

Slow down laws blamed for accident

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

OPINION: We need pill-testing at our festivals

premium_icon OPINION: We need pill-testing at our festivals

Cadet Journalist Ebony Stansfield wants more to be done to save young people from overdoses.

4 things I would really, really like to see happen

premium_icon 4 things I would really, really like to see happen

BREATH tests for our pollies? Now that's a good idea.

Mon 17 Sep 2018

Facial recognition first sign of exciting thinge to come

Facial recognition first sign of exciting thinge to come

Latest from Subaru is an awesome piece of technology because it addresses a major road safety issue.

Sun 16 Sep 2018

How young is too young to be home alone?

How young is too young to be home alone?

WITH school holidays looming once again, it’s the big question for many families: When are kids old enough to stay home alone? Our new parent panel weighs in.

Sat 15 Sep 2018

‘Warning: We’re going on a 6-hour flight with a toddler’

‘Warning: We’re going on a 6-hour flight with a toddler’

TAKING a toddler on an overseas family holiday for the first time has mum Lillian Saleh terrified because she knows that even the best planned trips can go awry.

Lonely? You're not alone

Lonely? You're not alone

We need to let everyone know someone cares and we need them around for a lot longer.

Fri 14 Sep 2018

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Serena launches a grand slam

premium_icon BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Serena launches a grand slam

A SECOND set outburst from US tennis great Serena Williams landed the 23-time grand slam winner in hot water during the US Open final.

Clive Palmer has no right to claim the UAP’s name

premium_icon Clive Palmer has no right to claim the UAP’s name

THE original United Australia Party was founded in 1931 and dissolved in 1945. It was a party of substance, and should not be usurped, writes Terry Sweetman.

Thu 13 Sep 2018

From the Mayor's desk

From the Mayor's desk

This year there was a particularly diverse list we were pleased to be able to help fund through the levy

We should support Bach ‘clinger’

We should support Bach ‘clinger’

OPINION: The Bachelor’s Cass has been dubbed a “stage five clinger”. But girlfriend just needs two shots of tequila and a hug.

Wed 12 Sep 2018

It's a dangerous business being funny

It's a dangerous business being funny

Cartoonist Zanetti has his say on the controversy surrounding Mark Night's cartoon of tennis champ Serena Williams. What do you think?

I was the girl who sat for the anthem

I was the girl who sat for the anthem

When I was in primary school, I sat during the national anthem every assembly. So what’s become of Australia where we can no longer respect a child’s decision?

Feminists using bullying accusations as power play

premium_icon Feminists using bullying accusations as power play

SERENA Williams’ real target was not the male umpire, it was her female opponent, Naomi Osaka, writes Miranda Devine.

Best things in life are free, but should be regulated

premium_icon Best things in life are free, but should be regulated

Doing unintentional "mainies” of the Mooloolaba Esplanade has me reminiscing about the years I spent living a block back from the beach.

My cringe-worthy and uncomfortable train experience

premium_icon My cringe-worthy and uncomfortable train experience

Whether I'm a serial whinger or not, I think most people would agree with me the experience I am about to share is pretty uncomfortable.

Newer Older