Opinion

Tue 17 Jul 2018

Usain Bolt may be joining A-League

Usain Bolt may be joining A-League

COMMENT: What is this sorcery? Talk is afoot that Jamaican-born speedster Usain Bolt may play for underachieving A-League club, the Central Coast Mariners.

Mon 16 Jul 2018

Trump probably right about Germany

Trump probably right about Germany

Trump has kicked a hornet's nest through accusations that Germany is "captive to Russia" through a gas pipeline project.

Sun 15 Jul 2018

‘I only date men who visit sex workers’

‘I only date men who visit sex workers’

KATE Iselin has one very important rule when it comes to the men she dates and to some it may come as a surprise.

Sat 14 Jul 2018

New law that goes way too far

New law that goes way too far

SURE, we need the government to weigh in on road rules and tax rates but, as Joe Hildebrand writes, it is not welcome in the bedroom.

Kids parties: the worst thing about parenting

premium_icon Kids parties: the worst thing about parenting

KIDS parties are a weekend-killing drag that turn kids into terrorists after the sugar rush. If I never have to attend another I’ll die happy: Darren Levin.

Instagram: ruining holidays everywhere

premium_icon Instagram: ruining holidays everywhere

THERE’S no landmark that can’t be ruined, no experience that can’t be interrupted and no beauty spot that can’t be sullied by Instagram idiots: Jill Poulsen.

Fri 13 Jul 2018

Why are pollies dragging their feet on euthanasia?

premium_icon Why are pollies dragging their feet on euthanasia?

Polls show we favour voluntary euthanasia but our political process refuses to even listen, writes Terry Sweetman.

Being white shouldn’t cancel out my opinions

premium_icon Being white shouldn’t cancel out my opinions

IF opinions are well-considered and delivered in a civil manner, it shouldn’t matter who they come from, writes Jane Fynes-Clinton.

Why neutral fans should cheer for Croatia not France

Why neutral fans should cheer for Croatia not France

OPINION: Croatia have fought tooth and nail to make the World Cup Final a fight that's lasted a lifetime for some.

My creek makes a mug of bag ban

premium_icon My creek makes a mug of bag ban

Al McGlashan finds his local Sydney waterway polluted by plastic bottles, coffee cups and styrofoam, but few plastic bags

What if Trump is right about Germany?

premium_icon What if Trump is right about Germany?

While many are writing off his frank words of warning, there’s far more than meets the eye to Trump’s brusqueness about Germany, writes James Morrow.

Thu 12 Jul 2018

Coffs Harbour - a Leader in Technology

Coffs Harbour - a Leader in Technology

It may surprise you to know that Coffs Harbour City Council has been at the forefront of this quiet revolution

Wed 11 Jul 2018

Why you shouldn’t support England

Why you shouldn’t support England

WITH England in its first World Cup semi-final in 28 years it seems to make sense that Aussies support them. But it’s wrong.

‘Decriminalising drugs will save our kids’

‘Decriminalising drugs will save our kids’

SMARTPHONES can do all sorts of amazing things, but for Louisa Simmonds’ son, they only made it harder to escape his dark past.

Here’s why people are off politics

premium_icon Here’s why people are off politics

The nastiness, negativity entrenched in mainstream politics is getting worse, and nothing typifies it like these two corrosive men screaming at each other.

Most vital part of Thai cave story

Most vital part of Thai cave story

NOTHING has engrossed us more in the past two weeks than the plight of the soccer team trapped in a cave.

Mansplaining under the pump

premium_icon Mansplaining under the pump

Someone's put petrol in a diesel car? Avoid mansplaining unless you’re dealing with a sane, balanced person who doesn’t crave victimhood.

Opinion: Thai rescue the good news story we need

premium_icon Opinion: Thai rescue the good news story we need

IN a time where petty hatreds get too much airtime and divisions in politics seem starker than ever, the world is for once on the same page, says Paul Toohey.

Tue 10 Jul 2018

Choosing career takes time and careful consideration

Choosing career takes time and careful consideration

We have a role in helping our children view their place in the world positively and supporting their career aspirations.

Facebook knows where to go to be believed: opinion

premium_icon Facebook knows where to go to be believed: opinion

It's one thing for your ad to be seen by 1000 people, quite another for those people to believe your message.

Newer Older