Opinion

Wed 23 May 2018

Don't quota me but something's gotta give

Don't quota me but something's gotta give

Enforcing the presence of women in prestigious roles is one way to see the argy bargy side of equality

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

What's got the Coffs Coast talking?

Great work done behind the scenes

Tue 22 May 2018

Why you shouldn’t pay off your mortgage

Why you shouldn’t pay off your mortgage

YOU probably grew up with this advice: Save up, buy a house, and pay it off quickly. But the world has changed. And you might be better off taking another path.

Mon 21 May 2018

The real hero of the royal wedding

The real hero of the royal wedding

LOVE IT or hate, we are all hearing about the Royal Wedding. But while all eyes were on the bride, my hero was another confident woman in the room.

Sun 20 May 2018

Sunday's knee jerk reaction: Coffs Coast weekend sport

Sunday's knee jerk reaction: Coffs Coast weekend sport

CHECK out the weekend scores and find out what sports editor Brad Greenshields thought was good, bad and ugly in Coffs Coast sport.

The music industry’s worst nightmare

The music industry’s worst nightmare

A NEW change to Spotify has been slammed as hypocritical and you, the listener, stands to ultimately lose out.

Sat 19 May 2018

SPIRITUAL MATTERS: Royal reminder of family values

SPIRITUAL MATTERS: Royal reminder of family values

'THE popular press has stirred up a frenzy of speculation about Meaghan Markle's family, which is not helpful and quite unfair.'

Fri 18 May 2018

'Good bloke' Peter Miles was a violent selfish monster

'Good bloke' Peter Miles was a violent selfish monster

If a "good bloke" is someone who shoots sleeping women and children dead, what on earth does it take to be a bad bloke, asks journalist SHERELE MOODY

BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Is the Maroons dynasty dead?

premium_icon BEHIND THE SPORTS DESK: Is the Maroons dynasty dead?

We crunch the numbers on the representative retirement of 'The Accountant' Cameron Smith.

Is Coffs getting the bypass it needs?

Is Coffs getting the bypass it needs?

What's got the Coffs Coast talking? Letters to the Editor.

Thu 17 May 2018

What no one is saying about Meghan

What no one is saying about Meghan

MEGHAN Markle will be officially giving away her career when she marries Prince Harry. But there’s no reason she should do so.

Mobile phone ban at schools: nice touch of reality

Mobile phone ban at schools: nice touch of reality

As I watch people fixated on their phones while playing in a park with their kids, the realisation of how stupid it all is becomes super clear.

Wed 16 May 2018

Trump’s apocalyptic vision for Israel

Trump’s apocalyptic vision for Israel

PROPHECY is unfolding in the Middle East. Riots. Killings. War. At its centre is President Donald Trump. And his evangelical supporters are hoping he will bring on...

ROYAL WEDDING: Why Meghan’s dad shouldn’t be there

ROYAL WEDDING: Why Meghan’s dad shouldn’t be there

MEGHAN Markle is said to be distraught that her dad won’t be at her upcoming wedding to Prince Harry. But it’s actually a good thing.

Tue 15 May 2018

IT'S EVIL: No 'good' blokes murder innocent people

premium_icon IT'S EVIL: No 'good' blokes murder innocent people

Some of the narrative around the horrific domestic violence murders that left six innocents and one alleged perpetrator dead last week is disturbing

OPINION: We all have the power to create change

OPINION: We all have the power to create change

Columnist Jordie Lynch says ordinary people can do extraordinary things if we make the right decisions.

Mon 14 May 2018

Why royal wedding will be every bride’s nightmare

Why royal wedding will be every bride’s nightmare

OPINION: It’s a right royal nightmare and a production bigger than Ben Hur. Here’s why Meghan Markle’s big day is a disaster waiting to unfold.

David Goodall had every right to choose euthanasia

premium_icon David Goodall had every right to choose euthanasia

THE 104-year-old scientist’s decision to end his own life should be respected, but instead conservative groups are using it to point score, says Karen Brooks.

Sun 13 May 2018

A letter to my ex: The kids notice when you treat me badly

A letter to my ex: The kids notice when you treat me badly

PARENTING should never be a race to the bottom, you don't need to step up for me, you need to do it for them.

OPINION: There's nothing quite like a good ghost story

OPINION: There's nothing quite like a good ghost story

IT doesn't matter whether you're a believer or a skeptic - there's nothing quite like a good ghost story.

Newer Older