Braces, ridden by Winona Costin, takes out the Grafton Guineas. Photo: Adam Hourigan
Braces, ridden by Winona Costin, takes out the Grafton Guineas. Photo: Adam Hourigan

Counting the hours until Coffs Cup day

STAR Sydney apprentice jockey Winona Costin is a confirmed starter for next week's Coffs Harbour Gold Cup racing carnival.

Indentured to Peter and Paul Snowden at Warwick Farm, Costin is approaching 200 winners in less than three years in the saddle while her mounts have earned almost $6 million in prize money.

She last ventured to the Northern Rivers Racing Association for the Clarence River Jockey Club's July Carnival and took out the Grafton Guineas on board Braces.

Another rising star in the city jockey ranks, Brenton Avdulla, will also ride at the meeting.

In 2012, Avdulla ventured north to win the Ramornie Handicap on Howmuchdoyouloveme.

"We've got the biggest riding star of them all, Robert Thompson, booked to ride here at the carnival," racing club chairman Alan Johnson said.

"Thommo has been aboard more winners than any other jockey in the history of Australian racing and he's got a terrific winning strike rate when he comes to Coffs," Mr Johnson said.

Avalanches (Trevor Bailey)
Before You Think (Basil Ryan)
Can Dominate (Cliff Bashford)
Captain Scott (NZ) (Aleacia Bennett)
Egyptian Ruler (Ken Lantry)
Elusive Catch (NZ) (Liam Birchley)
Got Unders (Ken Lantry)
Hard Ticker (Liam Birchley)
Kareem's Image (Paul Smith)
Kaypers (Greg Bennett)
Kiwi Eletist (NZ) (John Sargent)
Mucho Caliente (Jim Jarvis)
Our Boy Nicholas (Toby Edmonds)
Phrases (Bindi Cheers)
Purrvosa (Brett Bellamy)
Shadow Rein (Terry Walshe)
Shazza's Bubbles (Ross Stitt)
Slow Pace (USA) (Kris Lees)
Soaked (Graeme Birney)
Sofin (Shannon Fry)
Timeless Prince (Tony Newing)
Youwaitandsee (Trevor Hardy)

Aimalac Burra (Paddy Cunningham)
Aroused (Allan Denham)
Champagne Rock (Jim Jarvis)
Danes Bullet (Matthew Robinson)
Ebony Rein (Terry Walshe)
French Command (Hilary Dew)
Nothing Like Luca (Jim Litt)
Polskie Prince (Joe Janiak)
Primed To Win (Felicity Firth)
Purrvosa (Brett Bellamy)
Single Chance (Andrew Parramore)
Sir Will Do (Robyn Pritchard)
Speedy Squib (Michael Gallagher)
Sprite Zah (Matthew Robinson)
Villamill (Peter Ball)
Youwaitandsee (Trevor Hardy)

He's Dreamin' (Rodney Northam)
Kingston Time (Paul Grills)
Mullet Man (Ruth Cooper)
Space Invader (Rodney Northam)