MELBOURNE captain Cameron Smith has absolutely cleaned up at the Dally M Awards, taking home three gongs including the top one for player of the year.

Smith was the raging hot favourite to win NRL's top gong following a stunning season for the 34-year-old where he become the most capped player of all-time, and led Queensland to yet another State of Origin series win.

Smith led the voting by five votes when it went behind closed doors, and in the end he topped the leaderboard with 33 points, eight ahead of North Queensland's Michael Morgan.

St George Illawarra's Gareth Widdop finished in third on 24 points.

It was Smith's second Dally M Medal after first winning the award in 2006.

He also took home hooker of the year and captain of the year.

Canberra's Nick Cotric won the rookie of the year.


Dally M Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Clinton Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)

Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa (Jillaroos)

Top Points Scorer: Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)

Tackle of the Year: Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)

Try of the Year: Kyle Feldt (North Queensland Cowboys)


Fullback: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

Winger: Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)

Centre: Dylan Walker (Manly Sea Eagles)

Five-eighth: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Halfback: Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)

Lock: Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)

Second-rower: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

Prop: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Interchange: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)